THIRTY FELLOWS NAMED FOR THE 2016 SYMPOSIUM FOR PROFESSIONAL WINE WRITERS            January 6, 2016 – St. Helena, CA – Thirty fully-funded fellowships have been awarded to selected applicants for the upcoming 2016 Symposium for Professional Wine Writers at Meadowood Napa Valley, to be held February 16-19. Qualified wine, wine-food and wine-travel writers were selected based on their professional editorial status, the quality and originality of their work, and their influence in the world of wine writing, as determined by a panel of leading wine writers.

Congratulations to the 2016 Fellows:

CLAIRE ADAMSON, Auckland, New Zealand; JANE E. ANSON, Bordeaux, France; LANA BORTOLOT, New York, New York; ALFONSO CEVOLA, Dallas, Texas; ANDREW CHALK, Dallas Texas; JAMES CONAWAY, Washington, DC; JONATHAN CRISTALDI, Novato, California; ALICIA F. CYPRESS, Arlington, Virginia; MARYANN DESANTIS, Lady Lake, Florida; EILEEN M. DUFFY, Quogue, New York; MARISA T. FINETTI, Las Vegas, Nevada; KELLY J. HAYES, Aspen, Colorado; CHRISTINA JULIAN, Calistoga, California; JAMES KNIGHT, Santa Rosa, California; ADAM LECHMERE, London, United Kingdom; JOHN LENART, Chicago, Illinois; BEN MACPHEE-SIGURDSON, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; MICHELE PARENTE, San Diego, California; DEBORAH PARKER WONG, San Francisco, California; GEMMA PRICE, San Francisco, California; THOMAS RILEY, Alameda, California; TREVE RING, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada; EMILY SIEGEL, New York, New York; PAT THOMSON, Brooklyn, New York; WENDY VAN DIVER, Santa Barbara, California; BILL WARD, Hopkins, Minnesota; LESLIE WESTBROOK, Summerland, California; BRYCE J. WIATRAK, San Francisco, California; XANIA V. WOODMAN, Las Vegas, Nevada; LIZA B. ZIMMERMAN, San Francisco, California

Meadowood and the Napa Valley Vintners trade association, the Symposium’s founders, have underwritten this year’s fellowships and the Symposium plans to create an endowment and expand the fellowship program for 2017 and beyond.

Renowned British author and expert on wine, Hugh Johnson OBE, will deliver the industry keynote address, and the creative keynote will be presented by Jay McInerney, author and wine columnist for Town & Country. Other faculty members featured at the 12th annual gathering include Eric Asimov, chief wine critic for the New York Times; Jeannie Cho Lee MW, founder of; Ray Isle, executive wine editor, Food & Wine; Doug Frost, wine author, educator and one of only four people in the world to hold both the Master of Wine and Master Sommelier credentials; Jamie Goode, author, writer and founder of; Virginie Boone, contributing editor for Wine Enthusiast; Mike Veseth, publisher of the Wine Economist; satirist Ron Washam, the HoseMaster of Wine; Esther Mobley, wine, beer and spirits writer for the San Francisco Chronicle, and Tilar Mazzeo, author of The Widow Clicquot and associate professor at Colby College.
 # # #

About the Symposium for Professional Wine Writers
The Symposium for Professional Wine Writers, founded by Meadowood Napa Valley and the Napa Valley Vintners trade association and supported by The Culinary Institute of America, draws top wine book authors and editors, wine magazine writers and critics, newspaper wine columnists, bloggers and other editorial wine content creators to Napa Valley to speak, listen, debate, explore themes prevalent in contemporary wine writing and network with their peers for four days. A combination of lectures, panel discussions, group and individual writing sessions, wine tasting and fine dining make the Symposium an unmatched career enrichment opportunity for editorial wine, wine-food, and wine-travel writers. Learn more


Executive Director