|  home | feedback | help          

rumbles & murmurs

bloomberg radio

newsletter archive

Press Releases - Culinary Industry News


Award Winners Announced At 2008 Acf Central Regional Conference


St. Augustine, Fla.(Feb. 11, 2008) - ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla., February 11, 2008 -The American Culinary Federation (ACF), Inc., the largest association of professional culinarians in North America, honored its members and chapters at the 2008 ACF Central Regional Conference held at the Hyatt Regency Crown Center, Kansas City, Mo., Feb. 8-10.
The 2008 ACF Central Regional Conference award recipients listed below will compete for the national title against their winning regional counterparts at the 2008 ACF National Convention in Las Vegas, July 14-17.
U.S.A.'s Chef of the Year?, sponsored by Unilever Foodsolutions
David Daniot, CEC; executive chef, Edgewood Country Club, Commerce Township, Mich.; ACF Michigan Chefs de Cuisine Association

ACF Pastry Chef of the Year, sponsored by Splenda?
R. Andrew Chlebana II, CEPC; pastry chef, White Eagle Golf Club, Naperville, Ill.; ACF Louis Joliet Chapter

ACF Chef Educator of the Year
Robert Anderson, CEC, CCE; program chair, Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny, Iowa; ACF of Iowa

ACF Hermann G. Rusch Chef's Achievement Award
Ralph Comstock, CEC, AAC; adjunct faculty, Ivy Tech Community College, Indianapolis; ACF Greater Indianapolis Chapter

ACF Chef Professionalism Award, sponsored by Nestl? FoodServices North America
Charles Carroll, CEC, AAC; executive chef, River Oaks Country Club, Houston; ACF Professional Chefs Association of Houston

ACF Student Culinarian of the Year, sponsored by Custom Culinary, Inc.
Ender "Andy" Oktayuren; student, Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill.; ACF Louis Joliet Chapter

Baron H. Galand Culinary Knowledge Bowl, sponsored by Pearson Prentice Hall
Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis Inc.; Joseph Mueller, CCC, coach

ACF Student Team Regional Championship, sponsored by R.L. Schreiber, Inc.
ACF Professional Chefs Association of Houston; Alex Darvishi, CEC, AAC, coach

The 2008 ACF Central Regional Conference award recipients listed below were recognized for their outstanding contributions and goodwill.

ACF Chapter of the Year
ACF of Iowa

ACF Chapter Achievement Award
ACF Flint/Saginaw Valley Chapter
ACF of Iowa
ACF Minneapolis Chefs Chapter
ACF South Bend Chefs and Cooks Association
Texas Chefs Association

Rene Roncari Senior Chef Humanitarian Award
John Kaufmann, CEC, AAC; retired, Antioch, Ill.; ACF Chicago Chefs of Cuisine Inc.

ACF President's Medallions
John Bogacki, CEC, CCE, AAC; executive chef, Westwood Country Club, St. Louis; Chefs de Cuisine Association of Saint Louis Inc.
Charles Boydston, HAAC; executive chef, Tommy Gun's Garage Dinner Theater, Inc., Chicago; ACF Chicago Chefs of Cuisine, Inc.
John Gilbertson, CEC; executive chef, Sanford USD Medical Center, Sioux Falls, S.D.; ACF Black Hills Chapter of Professional Chefs
Pamela Lewis; corporate executive chef, Tyson Foods, Inc., Springdale, Ark.; Northwest Arkansas Chefs Association
Richard McPeake; company chef, Rib Stars BBQ, Shawnee Mission, Kan.; ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association
James "Jim" Murray, CEC; ICA senior innovation chef, Unilever Foodsolutions, Lisle, Ill.; ACF Chefs of Milwaukee, Inc.
Lindy Robinson; assistant dean, Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan.; ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association
Mark Webster, CEC, CCE; executive chef, New Theatre Restaurant, Overland Park, Kan.; ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association

ACF Central Regional BBQ Challenge, sponsored by Tyson Food Service
Grand champion: Harold Colston - Hot Meat Smokers team
Second place: Brian Miller, Ed Miller, Mike McClain - Heavy Smoke team
Third Place: Karen Putman, Ronna Keck - Flowers of the Flame team; both members of ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association

American Academy of Chefs Chair's Scholarship
Katie Palmer; student, Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan.; apprentice, Brookridge Country Club, Overland Park, Kan.; ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association
Chosen for its jazz, BBQ and attractions, Kansas City, Mo., was the location of the 2008 ACF Central Regional Conference hosted by the ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association. Bringing more than 400 chefs, cooks and foodservice professionals to the city, the conference provided attendees with numerous opportunities to advance their professional development and enhance their culinary skills through informative business seminars, forums, clinics and cutting-edge demonstrations. In addition, the conference offered participants the opportunity to learn about the latest cooking trends and techniques.
Sponsors of the 2008 ACF Central Regional Conference and national award sponsors are: Barber Foods; Boulevard Brewing Co.; Buckhead Beef Company; Butterball Farms, Inc.; Canada Cutlery Inc.; The Cheesecake Factory; Contessa Premium Foods; Custom Culinary?; GFF, Inc./ Girard's Dressings; La Brea Bakery; Lobster Select; Mann's Fresh Vegetables; MARS Foodservices; Mind's Eye Resource Management, LLC; Missouri Beef Industry Council; Missouri Pork Association; Nestl? FoodServices North America; New Grass Bison; NEWCHEF Fashions; Nueske's Applewood Smoked Meats; Pearson Prentice Hall; R.L. Schreiber, Inc., Rubbermaid Commercial Products; Seaboard Foods; SYSCO Food Services; Splenda?; Tyson Food Service; and Unilever Foodsolutions.

The American Culinary Federation, Inc., established in 1929, is the premier professional organization for culinarians in North America. With 20,000 members spanning more than 230 chapters nationwide, ACF is the culinary leader in offering educational resources, training, apprenticeship and accreditation. In addition, ACF operates the most comprehensive certification program for chefs in the United States. ACF is home to ACF Culinary Team USA, the official representative for the United States in major international culinary competitions, and also holds the presidium for the World Association of Chefs Societies, the largest international network of chef associations with more than 8 million members globally. For more information, visit

# # #



Patricia A. Carroll
Director of Communications
180 Center Place Way, St. Augustine, FL 32095
(904) 824-4468, ext. 147 or (800) 624-9458, ext. 147
Fax: (904) 825-4758



StarChefs Newsroom: news


 Sign up for our newsletters!|Print this page|Email this page to a friend
 QuickMeals   Chefs   Rising Stars   Hospitality Jobs   Find a School   Wine   Community   Features   Food Events   News   Ask the Experts   Tickets   Cookbooks
About Us | Career Opportunities | Media Kit | StarChefs in the News | Site Map
Please help keep StarChefs a free service by displaying our button on your website. Click here for details.
  Copyright © 1995-2014 StarChefs. All rights reserved.  | Privacy Policy