search
Loading
|  home | feedback | help          
StarChefs


Cookbooks
Star Cookbooks


Editor's Picks: A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
Search cookbook authors by the first letter of their last name.
 
N
 
Shoba Narayan

Monsoon Diary : Reveries and Recipes from India

2004 James Beard Award Nominee for Writing & Reference; In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Shoba Narayan weaves together a fascinating food narrative that combines delectable Indian recipes with musings about Indian culture, tales from her life, and stories of her delightfully eccentric family. The pages of Monsoon Diary confirm a central truth: Life is lived in the kitchen. In this creative and intimate work, Shoba Narayan's considerable vegetarian cooking talents are matched by stories as varied as Indian spices--at times pungent, mellow, piquant, sweet--about her childhood in South India and her life in the U.S.
--Buy This Book


Jeffrey Nathan

Adventures in Jewish Cooking


Jeffrey Nathan is the star of PBS's popular kosher cooking show, New Jewish Cuisine, and chef at Abigael's restaurant in New York. In Adventures in Jewish Cooking, he offers sophisticated, great-tasting kosher dishes that reflect his belief that, while Jewish dietary laws haven't changed in 3,000 years, today's tastes and eating styles demand a new approach in the kitchen.
--Buy This Book


Joan Nathan

Jewish Cooking In America


Much more than a cookbook--though it does contain over 300 recipes--this entertaining volume is also a history of the Jewish people through their food. Nathan introduces both people and food in a preface that discusses dietary laws, Jewish holidays, Jewish immigration to the U.S., and the impact of Jews--and their food--on American culture. With every recipe comes an original story or a reprint of an article or a personal vignette that intrigues and/or edifies. For instance, the recipe for falafel appears complete with a profile of Moshe, owner of the best falafel pushcart in New York City. There are also lots of photos, both modern and historic. A number-one choice for cookery collections, but make sure history buffs can find it, too.
--Buy This Book
--More CookBook Info

Joan Nathan

The Jewish Holiday Baker


Here are fifty original recipes for the traditional baked goods associated with the major holidays--challah for Shabbat, hamantashen for Purim, macaroons and matzah for Passover, jelly doughnuts for Chanukah--as well as delicious and exotic alternatives from around the world: Yemenite kubbanah, Turkish boyos, German schnecken, Russian babka, Hungarian strudel, Parisian pletzel, Mexican banana cake, Syrian ka'ak. But why wait for the holidays? Along with challah, bialys, and bagels, you will want to bake and enjoy all of these cakes and breads with your family and friends throughout the year.
--Buy This Book
--More CookBook Info

Joan Nathan

The Children's Jewish Holiday Kitchen :
Seventy Ways to Have Fun With Your Kids and Make Your Family's Celebrations Special


There could be no more festive way to introduce Jewish children to their Jewish heritage than through the food associated with the holidays. And no better person to do it than Joan Nathan, whose great enthusiasm and knowledge have gained her a national reputation as the maven of the Jewish kitchen.
--Buy This Book
--More CookBook Info

Joan Nathan

The Jewish Holiday Kitchen

By adding over 50 new recipes, Nathan has improved and expanded what is already considered the classic Jewish cookbook. Featuring recipes from around the world--Italy, Mexico, Algeria, and Russia, to name a few--this is the most complete collection of specific dishes for the eight major holidays, the Sabbath, and all special occasions in the life of a Jewish family.
--Buy This Book
--More CookBook Info

Anita Naughton; recipes and intro by Nicola Perry

Tea & Sympathy: The Life of an English Tea Shop in New York

In 1990 Nicola Perry, former tea lady at the London Stock Exchange, started living her dream. She found a storefront and opened Tea & Sympathy, an authentic amalgamation of English tea shop, mum's kitchen, and working man's cafe right in the heart of New York. Anita Naughton was one of her first waitresses, and from day one she kept an anecdotal record of the place, encapsulating the charm, flavor, and enigmatic patrons that are the atmosphere of the restaurant. Together they have created a colorful biography spanning the first decade of this landmark eatery. Complete with 60 recipes and photos of food and popular visitors, this is a quintessential taste of England ready to take home.
--Buy This Book


Cary Neff

Conscious Cuisine : A New Style of Cooking from the Kitchens of Chef Cary Neff

Miraval Spa is ranked the number one spa in the country for its incredible food, thanks to world-class chef Cary Neff, who designed Miraval's Conscious Cuisine . When they find out they don't have to sacrifice flavor and choice, Miraval guests flock to Chef Neff's cooking classes and have been begging him for years to write his cookbook--at long last, here it is!
--Buy This Book

Marion Nestle

Food Politics : How the Food Industry Influences Nutrition and Health

2003 James Beard Award Winner - Literary Category; When it comes to the mass production and consumption of food, strategic decisions are driven by economics--not science, not common sense, and certainly not health. No wonder most of us are thoroughly confused about what to eat to stay healthy. An accessible and balanced account, Food Politics will forever change the way we respond to food industry marketing practices. By explaining how much the food industry influences government nutrition policies and how cleverly it links its interests to those of nutrition experts, this pathbreaking book helps us understand more clearly than ever before what we eat and why.
--Buy This Book


Carolyn Niethammer

Prickly Pear Cookbook

Those bristly cactus spines are guarding something really good to eat. Like chocolate, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, and chile, prickly pear cacti are one of the true treasures of the Americas. In her unique, beautiful cookbook Carolyn Niethammer has collected 56 enticing international recipes for the succulent fruit and tender green pads (or "nopalitos") of the prickly pear. A wild-food expert and master cook, she guides readers all the way from cactus patch to casserole.
--Buy This Book

Michel Nischan

Taste Pure and Simple : Irresistible Recipes for Good Food and Good Health

Acclaimed chef Michel Nischan knows that eating well is all about balance, and his beautiful cookbook proves that robust meals can be both healthy and flavorful. 2004 James Beard Award Winner for Healthy Focus & Vegetarian
--Buy This Book

Wayne Nish

Simple Menus for the Bento Box

Japanese food is traditionally served in a simple, sleek, and dramatic style unmatched by any other cuisine. How can you re-create the visual drama of the Japanese presentation? Simple Menus for the Bento Box has the answers with recipes and designs for meals served in a shokado bento box.
The black lacquered shokado bento box, covered with a lid and separated into four square compartments, a common sight in Japan, is appearing with increasing frequency in America as an artful way to present food. Acclaimed New York City chefs Ellen Greaves and Wayne Nish have created twelve seasonal menus especially for the shokado bento box. Each menu has four contrasting but harmonious recipes, one for each of the four shokado compartments.
--Buy This Book
--More CookBook Info


Editor's Picks: A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
Search cookbook authors by the first letter of their last name.

Cookbooks
Star Cookbooks


Back to Top
Hot Picks & Bestsellers
 Sign up for our newsletters!|Print this page|Email this page to a friend
 QuickMeals   Chefs   Rising Stars   Hospitality Jobs   Find a School   Wine   Community   Features   Food Events   News   Ask the Experts   Tickets   Cookbooks
About Us | Career Opportunities | Media Kit | StarChefs in the News | Site Map
Please help keep StarChefs a free service by displaying our button on your website. Click here for details.
  Copyright © 1995-2014 StarChefs. All rights reserved.  | Privacy Policy