Rising Star Pastry Chef Hedy Goldsmith of Michael's Genuine Food & Drink - Biography

Miami, FL

June 2003

Pastry Chef Hedy Goldsmith graduated from the Philadelphia College of Art with a B.A. in Photography and Film, and went on to graduate with honors from the Culinary Institute of America’s pastry program. She continued her studies at the International Pastry Arts Center in Bedford Hills, New York.

She soon found herself working as a pastry chef at Chef Mark Militello’s celebrated Mark’s Place restaurant in Miami. From there, she moved onto South Beach restaurants Nemo and Shoji Sushi. Both of these were owned by James Beard nominee for Best Chef: South, Michael Schwartz. This would prove to be a pivotal meeting. While Schwartz moved on, Goldsmith remained and eventually took on the responsibility for plated desserts at Prime 112 too.

In 2006 she took a break from the restaurant world to develop a line of retail and wholesale products and consult for restaurant groups. It wasn’t long before she found herself assisting Schwartz with the opening of Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink in Miami’s design district. Since it's debut in March 2007, the restaurant has earned a reputation as a crowd-pleaser, with Goldsmith and award-winning fellow Philly native Chef-Owner Michael Schwartz’s cuisine.

While a balance between savory and sweet is prevalent in the industry today, Goldsmith excels at incorporating savory elements in her desserts (a signature dish is Popcorn and Peanuts, a milk chocolate candy bar with buttered popcorn ice cream). This creativity, and her hard work, earned her a spot among the 2003 StarChefs.com Rising Star Chefs.

Goldsmith has appeared on a number of television shows, including Iron Chef America on the Food Network with Chef Michelle Bernstein, and National Public Television’s Great Chefs. She has been featured in publications such as Food & Wine, Gourmet, The New York Times, Bon Appetit, and the Miami Herald, had her recipes published in various cookbooks, and was twice a semi-finalist for a James Beard Award.